Vega - Sole Love

Vega was formed in Stockholm in 1998 by singer songwriter Nils-Erik Sandberg and double bass player Johan Berthling (also with Nicolai Dunger) with the intention to write beautiful songs and perform them in a hauntingly slow fashion. The "How I feel/Hotel II" single was released at Make it happen the same year and was reviewed as "a soundtrack for a funeral" by a Swedish rock magazine.

During 1999 and 2000 the band recorded demos and played gigs from Malmö in the south to Skellefteå in the north and started to get a reputation as a band with beautiful and intense live performances. Ulf Stureson, guitar, and Tomas Hallonsten, piano, joined the band and several recordings were made with people who had taken a liking to the band. One of those recordings was voted demo of the month by Swedish P3 radio. Erik Hammarström, drums, joined the band and Vega became a quintet.

The year 2001 was a success for Vega. It started with the underground label "Grace recordings" release of the "What this recording fails to do"-EP and continued when the full length album "For retarded lovers was released in October. Jari Haapalainen (Bear Quartet) who had been a fan of the band for some time was asked to produce the album and he put Vega in an atmosphere were bands such as Big Star, Mercury Rev and Tindersticks would have felt at home. The debut album "For retarded lovers" with chaotic drums, beautiful strings and live vocals was an instant favourite among the critics.

The idea for the new record 'Sole Love' was born when Nils-Erik Sandberg first heard Ellekari Larsson's sweet voice during the recording of the first record. Sole Love' is to be release in March and it can be said without exaggeration that Vega has created a magnificent homage to love, using strings, exquisite arrangement, duets and choirs. The record starts with the contagious, intoxicating single 'Shake up your sole' and continuous to describe hopeful love, happy love and love that is unstoppable. Once again Jari Haapalainen is behind the production and Pelle Gunnerfeldt (The Hives) has done the mixing and recording. The Grammy nominated saxophone player Jonas Kullhammar was the guest on two of the tracks. This and the sparkling string arrangements by Björn Yttling makes 'Sole Love' to a very special happening that needs to be experienced over and over again.

Vega - Sole Love - imported from Sweden by


Price - $17.00



1. Love Talk
2. Shake Up Your Soul
3. The Love Song of Harold & Marion
4. City
5. Let Your Lips Be Your Guide
6. Tricky Love
7. Sole Love
8. Respirator
9. Taxi
10. I Always Let You Go