First Night On Earth
No One Knows Anything For Sure

first night on earth is the vision of founder Wes Grasty, formerly a member of the band Laburnum.

"no one knows anything for sure", first night on earth's first release, is born of Grasty's gestation of songs and complimentary choice of musicians including Stephen Yount (guitar), Chris London (bass), Vance Carlisle (drums) and Tina Cargill (keys, guitar and backing vocals).

Grasty received critical acclaim for his work in Laburnum including "Best Male Vocalist", Creative Loafing, 1995.

According to Magnet, Apr./May 1997, "Vocalist Wes Grasty identifying trait...he's got a vulnerable, tuneful appeal." Grasty has taken his talents and unusual style and applied it to first night on earth.

For their debut CD, the band rehearsed throughout the summer of 2001 and recorded at Scrimshaw Studios (Charlotte, NC) and Reflection Sound Studios (Charlotte, NC) in the fall of 2001.

This album has a crisp, fresh new sound.

first night on earth's surreal sounding guitars, cascading keys, thoughtfully placed bass lines, modern synthetic loops and driving drums help carve a new 21st century sound.

Their mixture of rock/pop with occasional electronic beats and memorable melodies sets first night on earth apart from the norm.

Additionally, Grasty's lyrics provide an enchanting and personable touch to an already beautiful landscape.


"First Night On Earth, on No One Knows Anything For Sure (Liquilab), spotlights the expressive vocals of Wes Grasty (ex-Laburnum) while deploying a high-drama stealth arsenal of arpeggiated U2ish riffs, sonorous keys, restless percussion and tingly female backing vox. It's all wrapped up, womb-like, in the richest and most luscious wooly post-shoegaze atmospherics."

- Fred Mills, Magnet Magazine, Issue #53

Album Review by EDF © 2002 PHASE9 ENTERTAINMENT

"Formed by Wes Grasty, this five-piece band from North Carolina has a sound that is similar at times to some British guitar groups from the 1980's. This gives First Night On Earth an edge over other upcoming American bands, as this is the sort of sound that is quite unique these days to which a lot of bands, if they tried, would otherwise fail to reproduce. With a pulsing bass and a hypnotic echo guitar sound, this album would at times make you want to drift away.

... excellent guitar work from Stephen Yount mixed with atmospheric sound effects and haunting backing vocals from Tina Cargill.

...what First Night On Earth has started should stir up some interest to see where they will next take themselves. Let's hope there will be a second night on earth."

4 out of 6 stars
Price- $6.00



1. Misunderstood
2. The Other Knowers
3. The Thrill
4. Someday
5. Subside
6. Get it Out
7. Trade Off
8. I've Been Told
9. Tradition is Boring
10. A Good Reason