Vertigo featuring Jospeh Williams of TOTO

Joseph Williams was born in 1960, son of John Williams, one of the most well-known Hollywood music scorers for blockbuster movies such as Indiana Jones, Star Wars and E.T. At the age of 21, he started to work with Barry Bregman, a manager who brought him to record his first self-titled solo album for MCA in 1982. At the same time one of his songs was recorded by Chicago on their successful “XVI” album. When he got back from a tour with Jeffrey Osborne, he heard that Toto were auditioning to find a new singer. He therefore applied for the position and shortly thereafter he became the new voice of the band, with whom he recorded two studio albums: “Fahrenheit” and “The Seventh One” in 1986 and 1988 respectively.

After leaving Toto, between 1990 and 1994 Joseph went on to work – following his father’s steps - as a composer for MGM and Warner Brothers Publishing. In the middle of 1994, Joseph was invited to sing on Walt Disney’s production “The Lion King” as Simba. In between his work as music composer for films and TV, he recorded two solo albums: "I'm Alive" (dedicated to the memory of his former band-mate in Toto Jeff Porcaro) and "3" (which also included several other Toto current and former members such as Bobby Kimball, Fergie Fredriksen, David Paich and Mike Porcaro).

In 1998, he recorded an a-capella album together with Bobby Kimball (of Toto), Jason Scheff and Bill Champlin (both from Chicago) entitled “California Dreamin” followed the year after by a second album ' Naturally'. In 1999, he also briefly re-joined Toto in the memorable “XX” tour. Since then, Joseph concentrated on his work for films until 2003, when he accepted a proposal from Frontiers Records President Serafino Perugino to be involved in the Vertigo project, together with producer Fabrizio Grossi (a man who worked with Glenn Hughes, House of Lords, Starbreaker, Danny Vaughn, Starship etc.). The success of Joseph’s return on the market with a sound style based on classic melodic rock was greeted with much commercial and critical acclaim and thus plans for a second album were soon made.

In the meanwhile Joseph found the opportunity to work again with Toto and his lead vocals shine in the latest single “Bottom of your Soul” off of the very successful “Falling In Between” album. On Vertigo “II”, Joseph and Fabrizio are joined by world class players such as Alex Masi on guitars, Virgil Donati (Soul Sirkus, Ring of Fire) on drums and Jason Scheff (Chicago, background vocals on “Hold Me”). Once again songs have been supplied by long-time friend Joey Carbone and Joseph this time did also contribute to the songwriting with the mega-AOR uptempo “I Want To Live Forever”. Some other songs were eventually selected through some of Joseph most contemporary influences and preferences. The resulting record, is another threat for the melodic rock fans and a real must for all lovers of the sound of Toto and of course for all those who have enjoyed Vertigo’s chapter 1.

Price- $18.00


1. In The Blink of An Eye
2. All For You
3. Hold Me
4. Part Of Me
5. Holy
6. I Wanna Live Forever
7. Save It All For Me
8. Picking Up The Pieces
9. Together
10. There's A Reason