Two Fires - Ignition

Kevin Chalfant's own credentials as one of US leading Melodic Rock voices are indisputable. He is a true legend, having started his career with the group 707, with whom he reached # 11 in the Billboard single charts with the song “Megaforce” back in 1981. In 1983, Kevin recorded an album with the Sacramento based pop group called Steel Breeze. That record entitled “Heart On The Line”, was released in Europe in 1996 on an independent label.

In 1985, Kevin formed a group with former Journey bassist Ross Valory, Tubes drummer Prairie Prince, The Who keyboardist Tim Gorman, and Alice Cooper guitarist Stef Burns. The VU recorded one album that was finally released for the first time on Frontiers Records in the fall of 2000.

In 1991, Kevin and Gregg Rolie (former Santana/Journey singer and keyboardist) formed the group The Storm. Members of the band included well known bassist Ross Valory, world class drummer Steve Smith (both of Journey), and flash guitarist Josh Ramos (CBS group Le Mans), with the later addition being drummer Ron Wikso (Cher, Foreigner). The debut album was produced by Beau Hill for Interscope Records. Two of the songs on this album climbed into the top most requested songs of 1992. The Storm toured extensively with Bryan Adams, Peter Frampton, Tom Cochrane, and many other groups before completing their much awaited second album “Eye of The Storm”.

Kevin also released in 1997 his first solo album entitled “Running With The Wind” produced by Chas Sandford (Stevie Nicks, John Waite) and himself. After the solo experience Kevin felt the need to go back to his melodic rock roots and when asked by the Frontiers Records general manager, Serafino Perugino, if he wanted to put up a new project which could fill the hole left in the fans’ hearts by Steve Perry’s demise from Journey, he willingly accepted this new challenge in his career. That is why he teamed up with former bandmate in The Storm, Josh Ramos, on guitar and created TWO FIRES.

The band’s debut album, released in June 2000 is still one of the biggest successes ever of a melodic rock independent release on the European market and it scored huge interest from the fans and the press. The band appeared on the cover of the ROCK IT magazine in Germany and ROCK TIME in France plus the live appearances at THE GODS festival in 1999 and 2000 are written in stone as some of the most exciting moments in the history of the festival ever!

Now TWO FIRES are back with the second chapter of their story ! Another fabulous example of pure melodic rock in the vein of Journey, Boston, Foreigner and classic Bryan Adams. Recorded and produced by Kevin Chalfant “Ignition” sees the songwriting contributions of Mr. Melody himself: Jim Peterik (Survivor, 38 Special, Cinderella, Sammy Hagar and countless others) in “Ignition”, “More Than a Mystery”, “I See Red”, “This Night”, “The Man I Want To Be” and the amazing super ballad “What The Whole World Needs To Know”. All the other songs are written by Kevin with Josh Ramos, except “You’re Bringing Me Down” written by Kevin alone. Musicians on the album include Jeff Jacobs (Foreigner) on keyboards, Atma Anur (Steve Perry, Vicious Rumours, Tony McAlpine) on drums, Rick Powell on bass and Alby Odum on rhythm guitars.

Price- $18.00


1. Ignition
2. Somewhere Far Away
3. More Than A Mystery
4. You're Bringing Me Down
5. I'm Falling
6. I See Red
7. This Night
8. The Man I Want To Be
9. I Will Remember You
10. What The World Needs To Know
11. Special Bonus